Are See’s Candies Gluten Free?

20090407-seesegg-boxAs Easter approaches, my thoughts turn to Easter candy. Somehow, I am not convinced that I will ever outgrow that. However, since I am on a strict gluten free diet, I have to consider what Easter candies are safe for my consumption.

Fortunately, See’s Candies, which makes more than a hundred different sweet confections, now publishes allergen information for all of its products. Their direct marketing department provided the following information about their products:

GLUTEN-FREE CANDY

“In response to your request for information about the presence of gluten in our candies, our Quality Assurance Manager has advised that we have reformulated our products and eliminated wheat as a direct ingredient in all of our candies packed in standard boxes. Some of our packaging for our Awesome Candy Bars still lists flour (wheat) however this is no longer the case. We also do not use rye, barley, oats or malt as ingredients in our candies. Therefore, none of our Custom Mix pieces contain gluten as a direct ingredient and cross contact is no longer a possibility. This would include our Peanut Brittle, Krispys, and our Sugar Free products. seesCandy

You may have noticed that we do have some products which are manufactured for us. Some of these items that do not contain gluten are our Milk Chocolate Drops, Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips, Milk Chocolate and Dark Chocolate Foil Novelties, Sugar Sticks and Sour Chews. As we’ve noted, most of our products are gluten free. 

However, we do have a few items which our Quality Assurance Department does not consider to be gluten free because of their decorations or they are produced in a facility that processes gluten. These are all decorated Creams (decoration), Springtime Truffles (decoration), Egg Nog Truffles (decoration), all Climber Canes, Puppet Canes and Candy Canes, and the 3 oz. Bordeaux, Chocolate Walnut, and Dark Raspberry Hearts (decorations). Also, all of our decorated Easter Eggs may contain gluten because of their decorations. The only decorated Easter Eggs that would not contain gluten are our 9.5 oz. decorated Rocky Road Egg and our 13.5 oz. decorated Chocolate Butter with Pecans Egg. 

In addition to the information above, we wish to advise that the distilled apple cider vinegar used in our Butterscotch Lollypops and Little Pops is grain based.”

See’s Allergen Information:

http://www.sees.com/pdf/SeesAllergenInfo_2014.pdf

I have to admit that since I arrived home with a one pound box of See’s truffles, I have consumed 4 pieces all by myself. I love their truffles and I am grateful that I can still enjoy them while adhering to a gluten free diet.

Sees-Candies-Truffles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s